Driving To Midnight Mess

000-Prince_-_Driving_To_Midnight_Mess-2CD-Bootleg_AUD-1988-CD1 - Front-SBN 000-Prince_-_Driving_To_Midnight_Mess-2CD-Bootleg_AUD-1988-CD2 - Back-SBN
Kategorie: R&B
Interpret: Prince
Erstellt von: BeefEater
Erstellt am: 27. Juni 2016
Hits: 3865

Aftershow at Grosse Freiheit 36 club in Hamburg, Germany - August 31st, 1988

August 31st, 1988 (the aftershow took place during the night of 30th-31st August, in the early hours of the morning, between the 2 regular stadium shows of the tour).

While being systematically overshadowed in fame by the notorious - and ultra-clean - recording of the aftershow at Paard Van Troje, The Hague, Holland, August 18th, 1988 (the infamous "Small Club"), this is actually the best aftershow music-wise on the Lovesexy Tour, in my opinion.

It features absolutely killer versions of many lesser known songs, such as "A Love Bizarre" - check it out! - as well as many outtakes - for instance "People Without" and "God Is Alive" - and unreleased songs e.g. "Still Would Stand All Time" and "Rave Un2 The Joy Fantastic", both of which would surface on later albums, in 1990 and 1999 respectively.

The aftershow features its fair share of cover songs, especially those by '70s funk/soul artists such as James Brown or The Temptations, which were regular inclusions during Prince's '88 aftershows. The playing is superb all throughout, with a lot of energy and of course a lot of heart. Much props 2 Prince's guitar skills!

This was the 3rd aftershow on the tour, the first being London (also featured partly on this set as a bonus) and the 2nd being the afore mentioned "Small Club". Prince would then perform 4 aftershows on the subsequent US leg of the Lovesexy Tour, in New York, Boston, Los Angeles and San Francisco.

Originating from cassette tape (those were the days!), this recording obviously has glitches. You will notice them from time to time, but they do not detract from the music. The quality is more than OK soundwise, I'd personally give it a solid 7.5 out of 10. The beginning and the end of the aftershow are missing from the tape, which over the years appeared to be the only existing recording of that particular performance to circulate among fans and collectors.

Official Releases:

Datum 31.08.1988
Setlist Disc 1:
01 - Just My Imagination
02 - Rave Un2 The Joy Fantastic
03 - Girls & Boys
04 - Venus De Milo
05 - Starfish And Coffee
06 - Raspberry Beret
07 - People Without
08 - Condition Of The Heart
09 - Still Would Stand All Time
10 - Strange Relationship
11 - A Love Bizarre
12 - I'll Take You There
13 - It's Gonna Be A Beautiful Night

Disc 2:
01 - Down Home Blues - Blues In C
02 - Cold Sweat (Incl. Bad-Intro)
03 - God Is Alive (Incl. Camille's Story)
04 - I Wish U Heaven
05 - Purple Rain
06 - Happy Birthday Cat
07 - Forever In My Life
08 - Strange Relationship
09 - Just My Imagination
10 - River Kwai March
11 - Under The Cherry Moon
12 - Six
13 - Dead On It
14 - Housequake
15 - Miss You
Recording Typ Audience/Mic
Source CDDA
Qualität Very Good
Format MP3
Bitrate VBR HQ (256-320 kbps)
VIP Angebot FLAC Lossless
Playtime (min:sek) 151:48
Anzahl CD 2
Dateigrösse (MB) 300.24
Cover Front, Back, Inlay
Archiv Passwort ohne / none